The Moon Dog series is a catch up phonic reading series for older, struggling readers who would benefit from starting at the very beginning. It is aimed at older pupils and adults who are struggling with reading in mainstream and special needs settings. Two sets of 8 blocks include short decidable texts which follow step-by-step phonic progression. Contemporary age appropriate illustrations combined with fun stories to engage the older reader while the phonic structure ensures reading success.

Set 1 introduces the sounds of the alphabet at the CVC level. One line of text allows the reader to develop successful decoding strategies within a controlled text. Letters introduced in previous books are included at every new stage for practice and consolidation. A game, included in each book, offers further fun revision.

Book 1: s a t i m
Book 2: n o p
Book 3: b c g h
Book 4: d e f v
Book 5: k l r u
Book 6: j w z
Book 7: x y ff ll ss zz
Book 8: All initial sounds CVC

The Moon Dog Workbook can be purchased separately and is a photocopiable resource. It contains word building, reading, spelling, comprehension and more activities.

extraMile by Integranet